Recognition and Awards

The County and its partners have received numerous awards and recognition through efforts supported by ARRA and NOAA. In 2011, the County received a 2011 National Association of Counties (NACo) Achievement Award for the “Fish Passage in the Milwaukee River Watershed” Program, recognizing quality, efficient and responsive management and administration, and Milwaukee Riverkeeper “River Heroes of the Year” award for its fish passage work. In 2012, Andrew Struck received Treasures of Oz “Wizard of Oz” for environmental leadership and organization, and Dale Buser (Stantec) received this same award in 2013.

 In 2013, Stantec received an American Council of Engineering Companies of Wisconsin (ACEC Wisconsin) Engineering Excellence State Finalist Award for the MT Fishway project. Also in 2013, Andrew Struck and Dale Buser both received the Gathering Waters “Conservationists of the Year” award for their aquatic connectivity efforts, and Andrew Struck received the Ozaukee Washington Land Trust “Timothy Kaul Leadership Award” for outstanding leadership in conservation. In addition, the Ozaukee County Fish Passage Program received a 2013 Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources “Wisconsin Citizen Based Monitoring Program of the Year” award, and Rick Frye, a Program volunteer, received the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources “Wisconsin Citizen Volunteer of the Year” award. County aquatic connectivity activities have also been featured in numerous high-profile conferences including the 2011 World’s Large Rivers Conference in Vienna, Austria and at the 2013 Society for Ecological Restoration World Conference in Madison, WI.

Contact Us

  1. Matt Aho

    Program Manager

    121 West Main St.
    P.O. Box 994
    Port Washington, WI 53074

    Ph: 262-236-2005
    Fx: 262-236-2012

    Staff Directory

Wisconsin Citizen-based Monitoring Program of the Year 2011

Wisconsin Citizen-based Monitoring Program of the Year

Recent Awards